Howth Aquathon - August 2010

Updated on August 17, 2010

16th of August 2010 - The 3rd Howth Aquathon and the final race of the Series was held in less than ideal conditions in Howth on Monday evening.

The shorter race was hard fought with Neill Kelly coming home just 16 sec ahead of David Kildea and Series Winner Erasmus Frantisek in third. In the ladies short course section the winner was Debbie Burke who had only 5 seconds to spare over Amy Brogan with Geraldine O Shea in third.

In the longer race the predicted battle up front between the two previous winners Kevin Keane and Tell Coura turned out to be a battle for the minor placings as newcomer 19 year old John Reidy led out of the water by almost 3 minutes and held onto that lead with the second fastest run split to come home a whopping 3mins 34sec clear of Keane who came through in the final stages of the run to head Series winner Coura by 10 seconds.

In the ladies race the positions of previous races were again reversed as two time second placed Linda Clark held onto her swim lead to take the win over the fast running Lorna Wolfe and the Series winner Barbara O Hanrahan in third.

The race images have been broken into galleries coving the main sections of the two races :

1. The short swim here.
2. The short run here.
3. The long swim here.
3. The long run part 1 here.
4. The long run part 2 and prize giving here.

We took around 1,500 shots on Monday evening so if don't see yourself in one of the galleries or there's a shot with you half hidden behind someone else mail us with the file name, (on the bottom left of each image), and we'll see what other shots we have.